News, updates, and happenings with the Kragnes family: Phil, our Seeing Eye Dogs, and (me) Rebecca.

Nicole is on the way to the airport to go home, and she’s ready!!: She looked forward to going home all day, but was nothing but professional on this last day of formal training and every day. I can’t say enough good about her.
We went to Phil’s office using bus and light rail. I’m not crazy about transferring on and off the platforms, but we targeted the bus stop c (for clicker) where the 23 going West bound stops.
Phil had his Juno Walk while I hung out in his office. Then we went to lunch. But don’t worry. I had my work with Lancer doing a bus, and two light rail trains each direction plus a fairly complicated route to Phil’s office. We ate at Big Ten, but they were out of their famous Nelly Mo Bars!! That might be worth another train ride back to the restaurant at some point.
After returning home, Nicole, Lancer and I got in her rental car to target an audible pedestrian signal poll which is mid block and between two bus stations on either side of the street. 
I’ve learned that I have a tendency to go right, and Lancer is starting to learn to compensate for it. This was apparently shown after I took a fall in the street. Lancer tried to go right, but I knew that was wrong. instead of going left (as it turned out he had a pole in front of him), he took me to the street which I didn’t know. Nicole and another gentlemen helped me up, and luckily my ankles didn’t rebel. My sore knee wasn’t so lucky, but it will recover.
Back here at home, Nicole” gave me an informal lecture on play and massage particularly pointing out things Lancer likes. She took a couple more cute pictures I’ll have up on Facebook soon.
As always after an instructor leaves, I feel a little overwhelmed and wonder if my new dog and I are ready to be on our own. With all of the construction downtown plus the neighbors’ deficient landscaping and slanted sidewalks around here, we have our work cut out for us. Tomorrow we meet another friend for lunch at Brit’s, Saturday is church and possibly our Mexican place, and Sunday is the Malt Shop. Nicole really stressed that although we don’t have to walk far, working a new dog every day in some form is important. With all of the above, it will be a challenge to get him out every day, but I understand the more we work, the better we bond, and the more confident and competent we are as a team.
I’ve been so concentrated on training that I haven’t mentioned a challenge we’re facing on the home front. Yesterday our grab bar in the shower collapsed, and Phil discovered the tile is breaking. The whole wall is rotted through and falling down. Phil did a temporary job, so we can shower and was up until one in the morning. He did his Juno Walk with some pain due to crawling in and out of the tub. The pain has worsened as the day progressed. Fortunately we have a lead on a good handyman to help us figure out what to do about the situation. 

Comments on: "Day 9: The Last Formal Day of Training." (3)

  1. KathyZolo said:

    Hello Rebecca,

    Yes, I can understand the feeling of panicing a bit oncethe instructor leaves. I do the same when I come home from Pilot. I think you should be all right with Lancer. I think all of us fal somewhere along the way. I know I fell several times because I think I might go right and Ginger follows my lead and off the edge of the sidewalk I go. I am working on strengthening my feet and knees so that I might fall less, but time will tell if it is going to help.

    You do know that home repairs rear their ugly head at just the wrong time every time. I wish you success in getting your wall repaired. Thanks so much for keeping us updated.

    Kathy and Ginger

  2. I’m so enjoying your blogs. And look forward to continued updates as you practice daily with Lancer. He sounds so eager to train and guide you.

    What is a Juno Walk?

    I’m so sorry about the shower. Glad you have a lead on a handyman. I’m saying prayers for all of you as you face the challenges of training and home repairs.

    >

    • A Juno Walk is how the trainers measure pace and pull. They play the part of Juno the dog and walk and pull at different speeds to find out what’s comfortable. Then they use a rating scale to communicate pace and pull and what kind of a dog is needed. They also measure the strength of leash corrections. The student walks with a harness handle just like with a dog, but the instructor is on the other end instead.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

