News, updates, and happenings with the Kragnes family: Phil, our Seeing Eye Dogs, and (me) Rebecca.

Day 7

Our first trip was taking the bus downtown and back with work in the IDS center to get to the bank via the elevators. We’ll be taking another downtown trip tomorrow, and although I hope to repeat the IDS center again, I hope we can avoid some of the construction we encountered today. There was one corner at 8th and Nicollet we couldn’t cross. If I was on my own, I think I’d go a block to cross at a better intersection. As it was, we had to treat a corner like it was an obstacle and cross by going out into the other street. It’s definitely not a maneuver I would have felt comfortable doing alone with a brand new dog. I have some ideas about how to circumvent this on our downtown trip tomorrow, but Nicollet is under construction all along the Mall, so we’ll probably just encounter something different.
The IDS is a little confusing. Nicole is going to make a tactile map of the route, so I have a better understanding of how to get to the elevators.
We survived our traffic checks, because Lancer is a very good boy! They got faster and closer as we went, but Lancer really kept an eye on that car!! We went to the DQ, but not for the Peanut Butter Monster Cookie Blizzard I’ve heard about and am determined to try. It was purely for traffic checks and obstacle work.
One of the biggest concepts I’ve had to learn this training is when to sidestep. There are times when Lancer tries to get me around something, and it feels like a turn instead. I’m unsure if it’s the offset handle which is making this harder, or it might be how definitive his moves are compared to my other dogs who felt much more subtle. I think this is just going to take time to learn to read him. The offset harness is still great on my back, but it, Lancer’s Height, and possibly his less subtle maneuvers are making our work a little different than I’ve had in the past.
The one thing about Lancer which drives me to continue is his willingness. I can tell he puts his heart and soul into his work, and even his puppy raisers say they felt he’d make a good Seeing Eye Dog because of his love of having a job. Zane’s work ethic was great, and I said hands down he was my best worker. However, whereas Zane’s work ethic was about enthusiasm, Lancer’s is about caution’ intensity’ and care if that makes any sense at all. 

Comments on: "Day 7" (1)

  1. Caution, intensity, and care sure do make sense. It sounds like you were meant for each other. What a blessing for you both!

    >

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

