News, updates, and happenings with the Kragnes family: Phil, our Seeing Eye Dogs, and (me) Rebecca.

Day 2

Today we took both trips to the gas station / convenience store just down the block and across the street. Getting to the drive way to go in was fine, but we had to rework the driveway / parking lot to the store several times the first trip. Because it’s a gas station, cars are parked at different locations each time we enter, not to mention the idling engines of cars waiting to get out of the driveway. There are angles I just have to let him make while telling him “inside” . Reversing the route is just as interesting, because there’s some sort of curb right in the middle of the route we had to teach him how to avoid. I have to make a right turn out of the driveway when I feel the sidewalk and a ramp going down into the street, and I’m not always sure if I am feeling the ramp. If traffic in the street is heavy, this is a little easier, but he has to stop and not anticipate the right turn on his own. We started here, because it’s the closest route I take besides buses but not the easiest.
Before our first trip, we went through some obedience exercises , and I can tell he’s starting to react better to my voice. He’s a clever boy anticipating what’s next, so we’ll have to change up the order of obedience to keep him from being board. Anticipation shows up in his work, and he truly wants to do the right thing.
After the trip, we went over his medical history, and I learned he’s a little older than most dogs. He’ll turn three on November 21st, 2016. I asked why he was so much older, and although Nicole had a few guesses, she said she’d find out specifics for me.
We also talked about Pet insurance. She accentuates it with her students, because she feels it saved one of her dogs’ lives. Insurance pays for some medication they couldn’t have afforded and would have had to put the dog down without insurance.
We groomed downstairs, because rain was threatening, and if the sun appeared, it would be awful out on the deck. He seems to think grooming’s ok, and this is a step up from Zane who hated it from the time I got him until the very end. I won’t have to do the thorough grooming as with my Goldens, but it’s good to know Lancer won’t hate having it done. 

During the second trip to the gas station, we used the offset harness! What a difference!! My back didn’t hurt, and I felt we were moving at a much better pace. Nicole said Lancer looked far more confident with that little extra space he could use to the left. We had far fewer corrections and picked up some stuff for supper. The trip home was great too, and we came in the back way. He found the gate as if he’d lived here for years.
I realized after Nicole left that we forgot his medications, but I don’t think it will hurt to extend them one more day. Nicole and I were busy putting together a preliminary plan for the days ahead. Tomorrow morning we’ll walk to the DQ 2 blocks opposite from the gas station. Tomorrow night we’ll hit the vets and possibly introduce Lancer to the piano here at home. Along with obedience exercises before the DQ trip, we’ll have an introduction to clicker training afterward. 

Comments on: "Day 2" (2)

  1. I’m so enjoying your daily updates! Lancer sounds wonderful.

  2. KathyZolo said:

    Hello Rebecca,

    You are sure covering a lot of ground in a short time. I am glad to hear that Lancer is picking up on your routes already! I am also glad that using the offset harness made such a difference in your back. As far as Lancer’s age, being almost 3 isn’t so bad, although probably a bit disappointing. The dog I had the longest was one that I got who was almost 3. She worked for me for over 8 years and was one of my best workers.

    Kathy and Ginger

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

