News, updates, and happenings with the Kragnes family: Phil, our Seeing Eye Dogs, and (me) Rebecca.

We took a first trip walking about 6 blocks. Not sure we’ll do this route again, because there’s no place we really go along there. The neighbors do a lousy job with growth along their public sidewalk. We’ll probably just keep along 38th street, because that’s where we go to catch buses and occasionally eat at the Caribean restaurant. There’s also a little store I’d like to learn how to use for the occasional gallon of milk or other conveniences. That’s where we’re headed tomorrow along with grooming and obedience. Anyway, Nicole and I were both impressed at Lancer’s intuitiveness for looking out for me. I fell up a curb once, but it had to do with me hitting the curb before he came to the ramp to stop. Our corners are rounded, so two streets share one ramp. He’s not used to this, because in Morristown, each crossing has two ramps at the intersection — one per street. Here we have one ramp which is shared by two streets.
I haven’t walked at this speed for a while and had to take some breaks. I think the heat is also a factor. Lancer is also 2.5 inches shorter than Zane, so my back is feeling the strain of holding the harness that low. We’re going to try an offset handle tomorrow to see if that feels better.
Feeding, watering, and Parking went very well! He gave me both numbers the first time we parked with Nicole the instructor. I’m impressed by the food he gets. It’s a different formula than the one we have been feeding — adult formula. This one is called Active Life All Stages 26/16. It reminds me of the old Proplan with all dry kibble rather than some dry and some moist. We’ve noticed with the moist morsels, there’s a lot more build-up on the dog’s teeth, so I get the feeling Phil will like this formula when he sees it.

Comments on: "First trip, feeding, watering and park." (5)

  1. It is so interesting following your journey getting to know your new partner Lancer. I so hope the offset handle will work out better for your back. Have a good evening, and will be thinking of you guys tomorrow.

  2. Sounds like you are off to a good start! Welcome to the family!!

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  3. Penny Reeder said:

    Rebecca, I’m so excited for you! Keep enjoying, and congratulations! Penny

  4. Rebecca, have you thought about taking a pain reliever in the morning? Or perhaps doing some stretches to help with the back pain? Just a thought! Good job Lancer! – Anne & Wyatt

    • Actually already doing that to baby a sore knee. Thanks for the suggestion. It didn’t hurt as much today with a regular harness, and we’re trying the offset harness handle tonight.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

