News, updates, and happenings with the Kragnes family: Phil, our Seeing Eye Dogs, and (me) Rebecca.

The weekend

The countdown to Yellow Lab Day is on, and it’s basically 2 days away. Meanwhile, Phil and I went to a wedding this weekend, and I would never call myself socially gifted. Even though I’m deliriously happy for the couple, I get more than a little anxious when I hardly know anyone. Phil knew a few of his coworkers who introduced themselves, and we rode down with one coworker and her husband who were very nice. There were people assigned to make sure we got the food we wanted, and others automatically pitched in. It was the first time for me eating a pretzel bun, and it enhanced the flavor of the bbq chicken sandwiched between it. Along with the sandwiches and snacks, there was also a food truck catering service offering Indian food, and the chicken dish was so tasty! I even elected to have another helping of that and skip the Oreo ice cream. Don’t worry. I wasn’t a complete saint. I had some chips and chocolate chip cookies!!
It was fairly hot with the sun out, but luckily many times it went behind the clouds. There was also a nice breeze, and during the ceremony and early dances, there were people around to describe what was happening. I ended of having a great time listening to all the music the couple picked out for the afternoon and for the dances. We rode home with the parents of the groom who were ready to get back to their Minneapolis home after the first few dances. The only downside was that Phil didn’t feel good and had to go lie down inside. He had a chill Friday night, but seemed to be OK Saturday morning. The heat may have had something to do with his illness, but he was also so delirious with fever that I had to help him get his feet off and bring things for his evening medication. He’s been sleeping a lot of the day, and I suspect he’ll be home tomorrow.
I go to visit Zane tomorrow afternoon for the first time since his retirement in September. I wanted to wait until my new dog was almost here and to give him plenty of time to bond with his new family and person. I hope he’ll remember me, yet won’t have an issue with me leaving. I know he’s happy from the various reports I’ve been given, but it’s a bit of closure. Someday I’d like my Yellow Lab to meet Zane the Black Lab, but that will be months away.
The last couple weeks have been pretty tough at the Malt Shop in terms of tips. I earned $15 for 3 hours work last week, and tonight it was $13.25. At least the air conditioning worked tonight. Last week I played until I almost felt physically sick from the heat. Tonight I wore some sound reactive, light-up glasses with green LED’S. The thing which was most discouraging was that there were pretty good crowds both weeks, which tells me a lot of people just didn’t want to tip. It’s hard not to take that personally, but one waitress told me she had a group who didn’t tip her at all either. 
I may blog about my visit with Zane, but more likely, I’ll write about it quickly when introducing my new dog to you in a couple days. From then on, I’m not sure how much I’ll be able to write, but I’ll do what I can. 

Comments on: "The weekend" (3)

  1. All best wishes. Kathie and Luna

  2. I so look forward to hearing about your visit with Zane, and of course all about your new dog!

  3. KathyZolo said:

    Hello Rebecca,

    I have the same trouble with weddings because sometimes, the volume level of music and people talking can be very loud. Well, by now, you should have your new dog and I pray that all goes well. I hope it is a quick match that lasts for a long time.

    Kathy and Ginger

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

