News, updates, and happenings with the Kragnes family: Phil, our Seeing Eye Dogs, and (me) Rebecca.

Current life Event

Before I describe how great my birthday was, I want to let you all know I’m going to have surgery next month. At this point, some women might just say it is of the female variety and hush up. I think we hush up the details of female things when we’d think nothing of describing surgeries in other parts of our bodies. I’d rather write it out and perhaps have someone learn something they didn’t know or benefit in some other way. I’ve been having some extra bleeding in the last few months, and originally, my doctor recommended an Interuterine device (IUD). We had a false start earlier in the month when my appointment had to be rescheduled due to the ultrasound tech’s daughter being sick. Upon the recommendation of a GYN I had ultrasounds taken, because this bleeding is new. She found a cyst on an ovary, a fibroid on my uterus, and a very very thick uterine lining. These are all normal things for my age which could be responsible for the bleeding. I asked whether the IUD would stop the bleeding, and she said gradually. However, then she told me of an alternative called Endometrial Oblation. Because I don’t ever plan to have children, they can destroy the uterine lining which should stop bleeding until menopause. It’s a same-day surgery, and right now is planned for May 19. By the next day, life should be back to normal for me. I told her I’d be hearing about a dog soon, and she told me I could reschedule. This is not urrgent. I need to get in to see my regular doctor for a pre-op physical etc.
I received a call from Tom at the Seeing Eye today. He wanted to know my availability for training, and I gave him a pretty good idea. I asked what he could tell me about the dog, and here’s what I learned. He’s a sizable male “Back cross” meaning three fourths Lab, one fourth Golden Retriever. The color is yellow. I tried to wheedle a name, but no dice. So sometime in the next three months, the instructor will bring the dog and train us here at home. Probably at the same time, Phil will be applying for his dog, and perhaps my instructor will be able to do a juno walk with Phil.

My birthday was wonderful! Over the years, I’ve had people tell me the last occulist painted my eye more hazel than green, so when asked about painting, I made it clear I wanted it to look green, yet natural. According to those who have seen it, the goal was achieved. Meals out were wonderful. At Culver’s for lunch I had a double cheddar butter burger with cheese curds. Instead of ice cream, they make frozen custtard which is even thicker and Richer. I had chocolate with Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups in it and plenty of Pepsi to wash it down. The main course of supper was a lot more healthy. I had a stir fry with pork and lots of vegies which was called the “Slayer” because of all the garlic! Then I just had to eat Wok in the Park’s Key lime Pie my favorite dessert! Just as palatable as the meals was the company of the friends with whom I ate. I came home to open presents from my sweetie. He gave me a keyboard necklace and two more colored lights. I can put on quite the light show in either the bedroom or the living room with different effects.

Comments on: "Current life Event" (3)

  1. Rebecca, I am so happy you had such a nice birthday! And I’m truly excited about your new dog. Please keep us posted on all of the details I’m very happy for both you and Phil. this is going to be a wonderful time.

  2. KathyZolo said:

    Hello Rebecca,

    I wish you well with your surgery. From the medical reports I have typed and from all that I have heard, you aren’t down for long after having the ablation done. Also, I want to wish you congratulations on having a dog picked out and a time scheduled for working the dog! Your birthday sure does sound wonderful, especially Culver’s. We used to go there and eat after church most Sundays, but the kids go to church locally in Gahanna now and we are the only ones who still travel to Pickerington to attend church; therefore, we don’t visit there much any more. I’m also glad to hear that Phil will soon be able to apply for a new guide. I wish him well also. It was great hearing from you!

    Kathy Zolo

  3. Lisa Keith said:

    Hey Becky, the Endometrial Abolation is a piece of cake. You got this girl! I had mine done back in 2012. I am so happy that I did. I got very tired of my monthly’s being so bad. Now I don’t have to worry about anything.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

