News, updates, and happenings with the Kragnes family: Phil, our Seeing Eye Dogs, and (me) Rebecca.

Hospital visit

I am still mad about my hospital visit. Last night I found a message on my phone from a social worker who talked about Phil being released early next week and setting up rides to the infusion center. I’ve already had a mutual therapeutic rant about social workers with my sister-in-law, so I’ll spare you that. I felt next week was too soon last night, and from what I saw today, I felt even more so! The classes were cancelled without them calling me which really upset me. I could have had the lady who took me to the bank bring me home instead of incurring a $15 cab ride.

However, in some ways, it’s good I went. Phil was being prepared to go down to dialysis, and I waited with him for twenty minutes before transport showed up. Initially the plan was for me to go down with him to visit. The man couldn’t talk to me for more than a minute or two without falling asleep. When breathing out, he would moan every time, and I’m guessing this was because of the visual and tactile hallucinations from pain medication. He managed to answer my question about infusion enough, so I could talk intelligently to his nurse later. When transport came to get him, I decided I needed to stay behind and talk to his nurse. I was in tears. I told her in no uncertain terms that I didn’t want to see him come home like that. I told her if he was going to have to take rides to infusion in the morning and dialysis at night acting like a zombie, he didn’t belong at home. She agreed and reassured me he wouldn’t come home in that condition. In fact, they want him up and around and are going to be reducing the pain medication to have that happen. I’d rather have him have a little pain than not be able to advocate for himself. He is not moving from that floor yet, and I agree he needs more attention than on a regular floor. His family will be on board with a few more calls to try to keep him awake especially tomorrow.

Comments on: "Hospital visit" (3)

  1. Hi,

    I’m glad Phil is recovering and you are doing well considering all the stress. Hospitals are not for resting, only recovering. Once he comes home, the resting will begin. Stick to your guns and know that keeping the medical social workers on their toes helps all of us and you and Phil especially.

    Bigvirtual hugs.

    BTW, my mother in law is in ICU and might not make it due to pulmonary embolisms. Right now she is on a respirator and dialysis and is awaiting an ok to do the nuclelar dye test to determine how big the clot is and if they can save her.

    So, pray for us, too. You are both in my thoughts.

  2. Ahh! So sorry you guys are having so much to deal with. Know you’re in our thoughts and prayers. Hugs!

  3. Jeanie Vejil said:

    Good for you Rebecca.  Any patient who is doped up like Phil is or who doesn’t feel well for any reason needs an advocate, and his or her wife is usually the best person to be there for him.  For his sake and for yours, I hope Phil will remain in the hospital until he’s doing better. Jeanie and Trudy

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

