News, updates, and happenings with the Kragnes family: Phil, our Seeing Eye Dogs, and (me) Rebecca.

Phil’s Kidney Transplant

I’ve realized that people who are not on social media with me and only follow this blog and/or e-mail have gotten the short end of the stick. I’ve done a few short Twitter updates and some detailed Facebook updates but wanted things to settle down a bit before writing this blog entry.

At about one thirty this morning, Phil received a kidney transplant. On Facebook, I gave a few details on the donor. I was so excited that any information I learned, I wanted to share. A friend was with me on Skype for part of the time, and there were occasional calls throughout the surgery. But I was basically by myself with the dogs throughout the operation. Although given the population of the area, it might be difficult to find her, my dad cautioned me it may not be a good idea to take the chance of sharing details. Although hindsight is 20/20, I can at least take his advice here. The most important thing is that she and Phil have genetics which are very close. There were zero antibody reactions between Phil’s blood and hers.

I got a call from the doctor this morning saying things had gone well. Most people get a rabbit-based anti-rejection IV med. Phil has had a lot of that — especially during the last transplant. They are instead using a horse based medication commonly used in Europe called ATGAM. The doctor confirmed that the surgery was very difficult, and this will be the last kidney transplant Phil will ever be able to have. The doctor told me I’d be talking to him today, but I kind of doubt it. He’s still in the recovery room, because room needs to be made on a floor which has an attention amount between ICU and a regular floor. I asked the recovery room people to call me if there is any change, and at 10:15, they basically told me he was sleepy.

Meanwhile in my own life, I have a support group meeting to which I’d really like to go tomorrow. But leaving Garron alone is an ordeal. He cries in such a way it makes me cry, so I may have to cancel my plans to go. This weekend is packed for me with two Masses to play and my usual three hours at the Malt Shop. With the extreme cold weather last week, I didn’t go to the Malt shop so really feel the need to get back there this Sunday. The woman who usually watches Garron is sick, and I am hoping she’ll be better by Saturday. I have a friend who volunteered to watch him during my Malt Shop gig, but even leaving him alone for Mass is going to be an ordeal. There’s also the not-so-small matter of going to see Phil at some point, and I definitely don’t want to leave Garron home for that trip. It may be too soon to have Garron with his effusive love near Phil and IV’s and other tubing. I keep telling myself one day at a time, one hour at a time, but I am a planner and like to have things in place.

Comments on: "Phil’s Kidney Transplant" (3)

  1. Neal And Marie Bork said:

    Good news, Becky. We will pray this transplant and Phil’s recovery is very successful.

    Love, Aunt Marie and Uncle Neal

  2. Penny Reeder said:

    Sure hope Pil does well and recovers quickly and feeling much better.

  3. Jeanie Vejil said:

    Hi Rebecca. Thanks for remembering people like me who don’t know the first thing about using Face Book or any other social web site. I am so glad that Phil has gotten his transplant because of how long he had to wait the last time.  I hope and pray this one will continue to work for him since he can’t have another transplant.  I’m sure they’ve given you reasons why he can’t ever have another one, but maybe they haven’t yet.  Please let Phil know we are all out here pulling for him when he’s able to speak with you and is feeling a little better.  God is looking out after both Phil and you. Jeanie and Trudy

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

