News, updates, and happenings with the Kragnes family: Phil, our Seeing Eye Dogs, and (me) Rebecca.

In the Past, On the Horizon

Before I begin updating on Phil, the dogs, and me, I want to point you toward a couple of very interesting blog entries written by and about some of my blind friends.

Those who follow me on Facebook know I’ve posted a petition about a blind man who was booted off a plane with his guide dog. A mutual friend blogged about it and offered some resources to learn more about the story here.
http://www.thought-wheel.com/protest-in-support-of-guide-dog-team/

Then another friend wrote about an experience at her church which I’ve had at church and at other places, too.
Breaking Bubbles
http://wp.me/p2znSV-1R

Those of you on Facebook have also seen how nervous I’m becoming about not having a consistent snow shoveler yet. We called an agency in late summer and put in paperwork as early as possible, but there are 50 people – including us – who don’t have a shoveler due to a shortage in workers. Phil and I talked over dinner about going out as a couple and just introducing ourselves to the neighbors to see if we can find anyone interested. I told him I’d go with him, but there’s no way I’d knock on people’s doors by myself. I have no problem calling on the phone, texting, or e-mailing, but arriving unannounced at someone’s front door is not my cup of tea. Besides the great possibility of interrupting people or catching them at a bad time, working our dogs up to the door with inside and outside pets as distractions presents another problem. Anyway, we’ve put the word out on Facebook and in person that we’re looking to pay someone to shovel for us, and in the event we can’t find someone I guess we’ll do the best we can’t ourselves.

There’s one more Facebook reference I’ll make and then there will be no more mention of it. Earlier this week, I put up a sort of heads-up that not many of our friends and family saw, because I was asked by one of Phil’s family members to take it down “out of respect for the family”. The post made another one cry, and I absolutely meant no disrespect. After ensuring the support of Phil who didn’t think I should have had to take it down, I will put it here in my blog.

Phil’s mom has been in the healthcare center of the retirement campus on which she and Phil’s dad live. He’s still in their apartment, and he’s made a quick recovery from some relatively minor health issues. His mother has had symptoms of Alzheimer’s and has lived at the care center for two or three years, and there are indications she may be coming to the end of her life. Some has speculated she may be gone by Christmas. Phil is starting to gather information about locations for dialysis in case we need to go to a memorial service. It is likely I will be going with him. However, if it happens during one of my Christmas gigs (outside of the usual Malt Shop Sunday nights), Phil and I agree I will probably play them. They are opportunities for exposure which happen only once a year and have been scheduled for months.

Speaking of those gigs, for anyone interested, they are at IDS Crystal Court Saturday, November 30 at noon until one or one thirty and Monday, December 23rd at the Mall of America Rotunda from four to six PM. I am usually on for Christmas Morning Mass at my church as well.

Phil and I will probably spend a quiet Thanks giving and may go out for a meal. Last year we got the trimmings from a grocery store. If you look at the blogs from around then, you may remember we had Thanksgiving visitors of the fire department kind. Even without that drama, it’s just not worth the hassle of going through all of it.

I was very sad not to be able to have trick-or-Treaters this year. I ended up being sick and could barely participate in my book club by phone that night. Phil still has about one day every two or three weeks he has to take off, as dialysis wears him out. He’s determined one of the medications in contributing to the headaches and will be discussing that with a doctor this week. He also has had a couple of tests on his neck and shoulder which get quite swollen. One of the tests showed some blockage of the jugular vein, but this doesn’t seem to be a worry, as there are drainage points in other areas. A second test will be discussed with the doctor this week. Despite all of the time away for tests etc., he is still keeping up with the work load and in fact has been called upon to do a second and totally different presentation at a conference for which he was already scheduled to do one in mid-December. I think the hardest thing about work is not being able to participate in some of the fun stuff like parties due to dialysis.
Phil’s laundry always gets done, but mine is another story! I keep hoping I’ll make progress, but November brings some dark days when I really don’t feel good psychologically. It slows me down a lot more than I would like. My piano was tuned a couple weeks ago, and I have loved playing again. I was horrified to learn some keys were sticking, because there were mouse droppings in my piano! Glad they’re gone. I’ve put together one mock radio show. There’s some testing to be done regarding the best positioning of my microphone, but chances are I’ll be submitting a demo show and an application to the Internet radio station by early to mid-December.

I am hoping the next time you hear from me will be the annual Kragnes Karol, but who knows in this crazy life of ours? I hesitate to say that we’ve kept out of the hospital, but wondering if I’m jinxing myself. Phil and I prefer that the only reason we see hospital admission involves a kidney transplant.

Comments on: "In the Past, On the Horizon" (2)

  1. Cindy Flerman said:

    Hi Rebecca,

    Thank you for the two links written by friends. Sometimes life seems to be one step forward, two steps back, one step forward, and another step forward. At least Phil is still working and your piano is playable again. If you have an upscale market, you might be able to order a very good Thanksgiving dinner that is probably better than average. Someone to deliver it would probably be essential. We have two here that offer this service and also a few restaurants that will deliver holiday meals prior to Thanksgiving day.—Cindy Flerman

  2. Hi Rebecca,

    Thanks very much for helping spread the word. I very much appreciate it. I keep thinking, what if it was me on that plane? Albert is only the vessel, next time it could be me or you or someone else who had to fight the good fight.

    Thanks and be well,

    Annie

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

