News, updates, and happenings with the Kragnes family: Phil, our Seeing Eye Dogs, and (me) Rebecca.

Lots of hope

I’m relieved to tell you that even though there were no red flags in the blood work, a different vet in the same practice called to give me the results. Unlike the one I talked to yesterday, she seems to think that Zane might have Esophagitis which is an irritation of the esophagus treated with a form of Pepcid (lovingly called Pupcid) and the anti-nausea medication called something like Serenin. I thought I may have heard Zane bring up food, but I can’t find any piles. He worked all afternoon with no incident. It was so stinking hot that after picking up the medications from the vet, we babied ourselves with a cab ride home. So he has several days of the anti-nausea medication and even more Pupcid. Then we wait and see. The vet today seems to think that with how quickly this started, it’s not necessarily this mega Esophagus thing. Only time will tell, but I am going to assume that Zane and I will be together for a while. If he starts regurgitating again after this treatment, then we go for the Barium test which is the one tracking food with dye in it. That test is the one which will tell us more definitively about whether he has Mega Esophagus. I am hopeful we will not have to go down that path.

Comments on: "Lots of hope" (3)

  1. Hi,

    This is good news. Had to lol over the pupcid remark. When Ro had an upper respiratory cough, the vet called the cough tabs puppytussin.

  2. I am praying for Zane. I’ll bet the anti nausea med is Cerenia. I remember the name since it sounds so similar to the tennis player Serena Williams.

  3. Jeanie Vejil said:

    I pray you don’t have to go down that path also.

    Esophagitis would sure be easier to treat than mega esophagus.

    How old is Zane by now, not too old because I remember you getting him but not how long he’s been with you.

    Jeanie and Trudy

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

