News, updates, and happenings with the Kragnes family: Phil, our Seeing Eye Dogs, and (me) Rebecca.

I want to write about the birthday events as the last minutes of my birthday are waning. My friend Eric came to see me on Monday, and we had a delicious delivery sub supper with Phil. His knee and hands have been hurting, and with the snow early in the week, I thanked God the person who drives him to and from work in the snow was back from vacation. Eric and I talked (Internet Radio Station) mushroom FM, movies and music the whole afternoon, and that’s both of our idea of a good time! Those who follow me on Twitter or AudioBoo or listened to the clips I posted in my last entry know that my pre-birthday dinner occurred Tuesday night the 23rd with four dear friends. Those details can be heard in the clips, but I can’t recommend Wok in the Park highly enough!
The 24th included a few birthday events. My friend Deb came with her gift of the Nicki Minaj perfume called Pink Friday. I loved it on the lab Tech at the hospital, but I like even more what it does with my body chemistry! I think Phil does too! The shape of the bottle is interesting and makes it easy to put the lid on and take it off.

Our reader came last night, and the one card from my parents was really meaningful this year. Usually birthday cards are pretty standard, but I have the impression from the way this card is worded that it was picked with particular care. It hasn’t been the easiest year, and even though the card is written in print, I’ll probably keep it. I’m going to produce it to the best of my ability at the end of this post.

Then last night I joined Facebook. People say there’s drama on Facebook, but that hasn’t been my overall impression thus far. I’m still learning to get around. I started around my birthday, so I’d have the motivation to really work with it to read birthday greetings. I’m also hoping to do a better job of keeping track of other people’s birthdays.

I was up late playing games with another friend, but as is typical for me, I didn’t want to miss a moment of my birthday. I used some birthday money to go get my hair cut, and that’s the first time since fall that Zane and I have gone anywhere by city bus. It was just too slippery until recently. I do 4-Square, and the app reported I hadn’t been to the salon since November of 2012! I had so much hair cut off, and I was going on about how darn thick it was! My beautician cautioned me to be thankful, because so many ladies come in with little to no hair. It still felt like a big weight had been lifted from my shoulders. While waiting for the bus to go home, we met a restaurant delivery driver who sometimes drops off our meals. He was walking his dog,, and I petted his dog a little.

I friended someone on Facebook whose name sounded like it was the husband of a graduate school friend. However, he turned out to be another blind iPhone user, and he lives in Hong Kong. We briefly talked on Facebook, but the sound wasn’t very good. I’d never used Face Time with anyone, because generally I prefer not to have people see me if we aren’t in the same room. I asked him why two blind people would want to use it, and he called and showed me just how good the sound quality is between two iPhone users on Face Time. It is also free between two iPhone users if they have Wi-Fi.

After starting a load of laundry, eating some lunch, and emptying and filling the dishwasher, I spent the majority of the afternoon on my porch in the sun listening to a book and some music. I had a few minutes of panic when I couldn’t hear the computer. Then I discovered I’d turned the volume down too low during a phone call.

Phil had dialysis, and I had my book club by phone while putting away laundry. We had a meal delivered, and a friend dropped off a white cake with chocolate frosting all made from scratch! I’ve been eating the white cake with chocolate frosting and green balloons another bought for the pre-birthday dinner, and I’m sure this cake will be yummy, too! Phil will be home to eat cake with me in the next couple days, which will be another blessing.

My last surprise was an Amazon gift card from my friend Eric. We are both so addicted to music, so he knows it will be put to good use.

With nice weather ramping up and Phil being home with me an extra day, I hope I can come down gently from what has been a wonderful few days! We have the pups to the vet, dinner and my late gig Friday and an theater accessibility focus group on Saturday before he goes to dialysis and I go to church. Sunday is the Malt Shop, and then a new week begins. Now, as promised, here is my reproduction of the card from my parents. It folds out from thirds into a long card from top to bottom, is white, and the back ground coloring throughout the textured letters is blue and green.

HOW TO MAKE A BEAUTIFUL LIFE
Reflections For A Daughter On Her Birthday
Love Yourself,
MAKE PEACE with who you are and where you are in this moment in time.

Listen to your heart. If you can’t hear what it’s saying in this noisy world,
MAKE TIME for yourself. Enjoy your own company. Let your mind wander among the stars.

Try. Take chances. MAKE MISTAKES . Life can be messy and confusing at times, but it’s also full of surprises. The next rock in your path may be a stepping-stone.

Be happy. When you don’t have what you want, want what you have. MAKE DUE.. That’s a well-kept secret of contentment.

There aren’t any shortcuts to tomorrow. You have to Make Your Own Way. To know where you’re going is only part of it. You need to know where you’ve been, too. And if you ever get lost, don’t worry. The people who love you will find you. Count on it.

Life isn’t days and years. It’s what you do with time and all the goodness and grace that’s inside you. MAKE A BEAUTIFUL LIFE …THE KIND OF LIFE YOU deserve. (Handwritten) Love, Mom and Dad

Leave a comment