News, updates, and happenings with the Kragnes family: Phil, our Seeing Eye Dogs, and (me) Rebecca.

I remember my dad trying to show me how to fan out a hand of playing cards when I was a little girl. One problem was that the braille cards available then were extra slippery. If I fanned out the cards, inevitably, they would start slipping apart even more, land in a heap on the table, and probably some of them would be face-up. An additional concern came about when trying to read the braille on the corners as the cards overlapped. Again, I have to pull them a little more apart to see the Braille, and into the heap they’d go. I don’t remember having dice or learning many dice games as a kid. If the dice were big enough, I could count the holes. It was easier when playing with Braille dice — on which the holes are instead raised dots. I discovered I really liked dice games as an adult. If the game wasn’t enclosed like our Shut the box games, I’d go in search of a square pan with a little depth, so the dice were less likely to flip out somewhere on the table or even on the floor for a dog to swallow and/or us to crawl and find.

In the last few years, I’ve been able to enjoy dice and card games without some of the physical drawbacks on the computer. Sometimes I’ll meet friends

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

