News, updates, and happenings with the Kragnes family: Phil, our Seeing Eye Dogs, and (me) Rebecca.

Because of Phil and I getting sick, I haven’t had the opportunity to write about my adventures going to Metro Lighting and Sound on Friday the 15th. The metro Mobility drivers had a hard time finding the place on both trips, and I blocked off too much time to make sure I had enough. Because of the driver problems, I almost didn’t’ make it out of there before they were closing. The sales guy was very nice, but there were a lot fewer choices than I expected. I found something I really liked, but I knew it wouldn’t be quite the same as the light which was shorting. Still I couldn’t wait to see it in action in our living room. The point was moot Friday night when I arrived home and heard Phil’s cough and how badly he was feeling. Then he was off in an ambulance Saturday, and I got sick Saturday night.

This Friday night, he set-up my new light, and though I liked it, it just wasn’t quite as bright and intricate as my first moonflower lamp. Phil knew I was really wrestling with the problem, and both of us agreed that if we took it to an electronics store, they’d rip us off. Phil kept saying that if we lived closer to some of his electronics-loving friends, we’d probably have someone willing to work on it. It occurred to me that perhaps Phil had someone like that in his life and might not know it or think of who it was. Yesterday I asked Phil to put up a post on Facebook asking if any of his friends might be interested in taking a crack at fixing it. A former co-worker — who has moved onto a job outside the University — said he’d be glad to do so. Phil talked to him and told him that he thought it was just a broken wire being trip when the mechanism moved. Within an hour, our friend called back saying Phil was absolutely right and that it was fixed. Within another hour, he dropped the light back at our place, and tonight when I returned home from the Malt shop, Phil had all of my lights set-up and working beautifully! Several are sound-sensitive, so we turned up some loud music to see them work their magic together, and it truly was wonderful! At times like that, I wish Phil could see all that the lights were doing. It’s also very rare that I am enthused about kids, but I bet my nieces and even my teen-ager nephew would probably get a kick out of seeing these lights. As I watch my lights doing their thing, I am a very happy camper!

Comments on: "Never mind Camera and action. around here the word is “lights!”" (2)

  1. Jeanie Vejil said:

    Glad you were able to get the light fixed, Rebecca.

    Were you and Phil snowed in in the past week or so?

    Jeanie and Trudy

  2. Cindy Flerman said:

    Hi Rebecca,

    You mentioned Phil going to the hospital in an ambulance; what happened with that?

    Cindy Flerman

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

