News, updates, and happenings with the Kragnes family: Phil, our Seeing Eye Dogs, and (me) Rebecca.

If I did things correctly, there will be a new feature showing up on this blog called Audio Boo. The free version is only 3 minutes long, but that’s enough. Audio boos won’t replace my writing, because I love it too much. There are topics on which it is easier to speak. I want to do an audio boo series about our house, for example. I know some of you have a hard time accessing audio, so I’ll try not to do anything critical in this medium. Many of my Twitter followers like to hear my voice, and when I saw I could link Audio Boo to Word Press, I got excited.

I thought about doing an audio boo about events today, but the sound effects aren’t anything anyone needs to hear. Phil is headed to the hospital tomorrow morning with what is likely a flare-up of his Diverticulitis. He made the mistake of eating popcorn last night. There are so many things he “shouldn’t” eat, and he slips like we all do at times. This time popcorn affected him. A few days ago, popcorn was fine. I wish he would have just gone to the hospital today, but ER’s during holiday weekends aren’t the places to be. He’d rather be seen when there aren’t as many cases and when his regular doctors are more likely to be there to consult. It’s always a little rough sleeping when Phil is this feverish, because he tends to do a lot of moaning. We both think it’s likely they’ll admit him.

I had two appointments tomorrow, but I canceled them to stay home with Garron. Last hospital stay, I had birthday plans, but this time it makes more sense not to put people through the contortions of getting Garron at the hospital and bringing him home. Plus nurses won’t have a chance to give Phil a hard time about having Garron there. A friend may come to us, and we might be able to sneak away to the restaurant down the block for a quick meal for an hour or so. The appointments would have taken too long though, and Garron will be going through enough without me leaving for very long.

Phil jokes about the tradition of being sick over holiday weekends, and it really does seem to happen a lot. His 47th birthday is Wednesday, and he’d already asked for the day off. Likely he’ll be spending at least part of the day in the hospital.
Rebecca Kragnes and Zane (Black Labrador and Seeing Eye Dog)
E-Mail: rebeccak
Twitter: RebeccaKragnes
http://www.rebeccak.com

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

