News, updates, and happenings with the Kragnes family: Phil, our Seeing Eye Dogs, and (me) Rebecca.

Many of you know I am an avid reader and am on the advisory committee for my state library. But as great as our library is, I love having other sources for books — particularly new material or books missing in a series. One of my favorite resources is
Bookshare,
which happens to be celebrating its ten year anniversary. I joined about five years ago, and that membership always pays for itself. Inevitably at some time during the year, I want or have to read a book which is not available from the library. Like many blind readers, I’d rather listen to a human voice read an audio book. But I don’t like the idea of being limited to only books available in this medium. Bookshare’s books are in text to speech and marked up in a way in which chapters and sections are easy to find. My Victor Stream’s synthesized voice does a beautiful job of reading their material. Unlike some audio books from the library, bookshare offers electronic Braille copies of their material as well. I like having the option to read a book in Braille or audibly.

I couldn’t end without expressing my gratitude to the people who do the work of scanning and proofing books for this program. I don’t have the patience for either, but I thank God for those who do.

Bookshare is on Twitter and has its own blog — also on WordPress. after reading the first
tenth anniversary post,
I chose to follow it.

I happen to be reading a Bookshare title right now by an author I’ve come to love Joseph Girzone. I gobbled up the Joshua series and most of his other material available through the library. The book I’m reading now is called “Understanding God’s Son” and is perfect for Lent. Rebecca Kragnes and Zane (Black Labrador and Seeing Eye Dog)
E-Mail: rebeccak
Twitter: RebeccaKragnes
http://www.rebeccak.com

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

