News, updates, and happenings with the Kragnes family: Phil, our Seeing Eye Dogs, and (me) Rebecca.

My apologies to those who see this post twice. for some reason, it wasn’t completed the first time. The editing program isn’t accessible, so I moved the post to the trash and am posting the whole thing again with this paragraph – atempting to tie up another loose end.
A friend wrote after my post on the Minnesota Community Sings and asked me to put a link in my blog for more info. For those who need the e-mail address for Braille song sheets, I’ll be happy to give it to you, but it might be irresponsible to publish it in a blog.

A week later, I had a very different experience from the sing-along I describe in my last post. A friend drove me to Coon Rapids to be a part of a jam session. Metro Mobility wouldn’t drop there, so I was fortunate to have a friend willing to drive. I tried my best not to have too many expectations, so I wouldn’t be disappointed. Apparently I still had too many. I thought the jam session was about mostly professional musicians getting together. Little did I know that twelve kids were involved in singing none too great. Apparently that’s a lot more kids than normal, but my friend told me that fifteen minutes felt like 45 to her. Now imagine what it was like for me — the tortured musician. Kids need experience, and I understand that, but I thought this jam session was composed of more professionals than was the case. Even the guitarist and bass player were pretty young, but they were good for their age. The drummer has a *lot of learning to do!
We might try it one more time, because the organizer said she might institute kids time for the first hour and adults for the second.
My presentation to the class on “nothing” about “seeing nothing” went very well. There was so much discussion, we didn’t get to the experiments. They promised to try dropping some cylindrical and round objects and finding them blind folded.

Then I came home to lead a discussion on the book I chose for book club by phone. Despite the fact very few liked the book, they were great sports about it. In case anyone wants to know, the book was “She Ain’t the One” by Carl Weber and Sherrie Morrison.
With last Wednesday being leap year day, one of my favorite bloggers wrote a fun, positive piece.
Happy Leap Frog Day Make It Count!
I smiled, because I knew of something else happening that day. The Monday before I attended an Advisory Committee meeting for the
Minnesota Braille and Talking Book library. We learned the governor is sponsoring a year long initiative called something like “leap into Reading”. I tried to find a link to a press release about it but the page was not cooperating. Anyway, the mascot for the program is a frog named ReadIt. If he isn’t available, his sister Lily appears. Although the mascot is aimed at the kids, The program itself is a reminder for people of all ages that reading is a life long activity. I am enthusiastic about the program and hope to see some good press on it. Although I am not enamored with the live animal, I like the symbolic versions of frogs. I have this wonderful, shiny, stuffed frog made by a Chinese lady. Of course it helps that frogs are usually my favorite color — green.

Thursday I had a phone meeting as a member of an organization’s board, and although I haven’t made my final decision, I’m leaning toward not running for election as Secretary again. I used to think that it was one or two people who caused problems, but it’s becoming apparent that the board of the organization in question is becoming more about personalities and egos than its main purpose. I record the meetings, so I can write my report, and after an argument went on for ten minutes, I decided to take a shower. My showers are about ten minutes in length, and as I exited the shower, the same argument was still continuing. There is a lot of fighting going on, and the feuds last for weeks. I just don’t feel like writing the minutes is really making all that much of a difference in the world. this is part of the reason I entitled this piece leaping to conclusions. So many people see only what they want to see, so they are the good guys, while the other side is the bad guys.

Then last week, a person decided to initiate a direct message conversation with me on Twitter repeatedly telling me my soul was in danger, and I’m headed to hell. The only way I could avoid it was to stop contraception or abstain from sex. All this, because my husband and I have decided not to have children, and I happen to be Catholic. The guy is a wonderful musician! I should have known he might do this when I heard a Youtube song he composed. He was singing about how Satan smiles when people use contraception. I tried several times to end the conversation peacefully by saying we would have to agree to disagree, but he only interrogated me more aggressively. I’m pretty open about this decision and see no reason not to be, but before terminating the conversation and blocking him from seeing any future messages from me, I pointed out that he didn’t have any idea why we made the decision we did. I’ve talked to priests about my reasons, and they understand them. This whole thing really upset me, and I got a hold of my priest. To calm me down, my priest said that he, mypriest himself, was really the only one in a position to condemn me to hell, and he was passing on that. Obviously, people can believe whatever they wish about these things, but they have no right to hoist these beliefs on others. I don’t care if they are of the same denomination as the person they are judging.

Then today I had another startling experience on Twitter. I follow lots of people and occasionally retweet their comments with comments of my own. This is standard practice on Twitter. I did this once to him today, and I don’t think I’ve targeted him among the over 300 people I follow. I got a tweet telling me to stop tweeting him, or the next step was that he would block me. I was shocked to put it mildly. He’s another great musician, and he hasn’t even released an album yet. It seemed too intense of a first message. I might have started with “I’d like to request that you don’t reply or retweet me anymore, please”. Then if I continued to do it, his message today may have been justified. I immediately unfollowed him, and I’ll never buy any of his music, no matter how good he is.

It’s very easy for me to get bogged down in feelings of rejection and even guilt over things like these, but God reminds me through other encounters that these people really aren’t worth my time. As you may have gathered I follow a lot of musicians — some of whom are Christian

Comments on: "loose ends and leaping to conclusions" (2)

  1. Janice Warrington said:

    Just wanted to say “bravo” for your responses to those “in-your-face” people. I’m sorry that you felt upset over the contraception issue. That is your personal right, and I believe God understands and approves. Love you, Janice

  2. Thanks for sharing this!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

