News, updates, and happenings with the Kragnes family: Phil, our Seeing Eye Dogs, and (me) Rebecca.

This isn’t a post about alcohol, although sometimes the paraphernalia going along with that is fascinating too. I enjoyed a good fruity, alcoholic drink, but with the medications I take, I don’t mess with it! This post is about my fascination with tools for drinking nonalcoholic things.

It started when young. I played with glasses — particularly an off-white one and a bright yellow glass which had the exact same rough texture on the outside.

I lost my traveling water bottle last week. it was made by REI. When closed properly, it would not spill in my lime green backpack. It was also lime green. The screw-off cap was one color of lime, and the bottle proper was a translucent chartreuse which the water accentuated. I drink water while playing piano in church, and I suspect it’s at church. We have another REI bottle which is translcent white with a royal blue cap I used for years before buying my green one, but I still hope my green one is found.

Phil says I could always use the pale lime green water bottle he bought this fall to fit the cup holder in my chair. It’s lovely for those times when I am typing on the wireless keyboard and want to take a sip of cold water once in a while. Pulling up the top means very little chance of spilling on the keyboard. The REI bottle doesn’t fit in my cup-holder like the bicycle bottle, but this Bicycle bottle has more of a tendency to leak in a bag. So if my REi bottle is found, I will continue to have two green water bottles in the fridge — one ready for travel and the other ready for the chair. I also have a green pitcher of cold water in the fridge in case I’m in desperate need of cold water and forgot to fill one of my bottles.

At my parents’ we had a well water faucet growing up, but unless it was winter or early spring or ice was used, the water could always be colder. I’d run the faucet and probably wasted a lot of water, but I don’t have to worry about that now with the pitcher in the fridge.

I do have fond memories of the solid-colored, shiny metal glasses by the sink, and a few years ago when my friend spotted some, I had to have four — red, blue, gold, and of course green!. When I’m dying for a quick cold glass of water, there’s nothing like metal glasses to keep it chilled as much as possible! If it’s sunny, the water accentuates the color of the bottom inside, and it shines even more than the glass itself.

Bottles and metal glasses are more likely to tip over at the table, so for water and other transparent or translucent drinks, one of our clear glasses or plastic mugs is a good choice. We used to have some beautiful glass blue ones, which were light and transparent at the top and got dark and more translucent going toward the bottom. The big glasses in that set broke. We have cool Christmas glasses with clear bottoms and transparent red, green, and clear squares in a pattern, such that there’s always a different colored square above, below, and on either side of each square. For transparent drinks in clear-bottomed glasses, we have these wonderful coasters with a button underneath. The wait of the glass presses the button , and the coaster lights up in different colored lights. The four light- up coasters are puzzle pieces in a tray.

IN the office, I use four of my late grandmother’s shiny colored coasters — silver, gold, orange, and of course green. I played with them when I was a kid, and I’d be lying if I told you I didn’t look at them shining in the light once in a while when it’s just two or four of us.

We have a couple interesting-feeling leather Coasters with “Seeing Eye” in Braille and a picture on them. I suspect it’s probably a picture of buddy the first Seeing Eye dog.

For milk and juice in the morning, we have these lovely Tupperware glasses I bought at an auction. I remember Phil being exasperated with me, because as you can tell, we have a lot of glasses. the pale, light blue are the biggest, bright, lime green in the middle, and finally little orange ones. I use a green one, and Phil uses an orange one to monitor is fluid intake. We often give guests big blue glasses of water or other beverages.

We haven’t even talked about how we drink hot drinks from our new Keurig yet. We have a mismatched assortment of ceramic mugs on two mug trees, and yes, I tend to break them. I really try to hang them correctly, but at least once every few months I crack one. Phil likes the big University mugs, because they hold a little more. I prefer the “d-shaped” handles which are easier for me to hold.

For years I was in search of the perfect non-ceramic mug (so I couldn’t break it). I tried an 8-ounce plastic Seeing Eye mug, but because of it’s tall, skinny nature, it had a tendency to fall. Then for Christmas a few years ago, I received a thermal mug with a cool handle , a slotted lid, and an excellent flat bottom. before the new machine, we produced hot water through our coffee pot. when alone, that seemed like a waste, so I warmed hot chocolate in the microwave. my wonderfully shaped thermal mug was metal. Then a couple years ago, I found a mug of about twenty ounces — perfectly plastic, a flat bottom, and a slotted lid. Phil used and took it when he was released from the rehab center (since otherwise they would have thrown it away). It is like one I had in college for which I’d been searching for years. Ah, mug nirvana!
It and the metal thermal mug are good choices for drinking hot liquid at the table. But now I have a cup holder and the ability to type on a wireless keyboard in my wonderful new chair. the guest blue glasses worked for cider, but I was still scared about the splashing. Nothing with handles would fit. So Phil went online and found what I think is the best possible hot/cold drink chair cup for me. Shiny green and 16-ounces, it is absolutely no spill! A button is pressed to open the slot for a sip and screw on the lid. Because there is no gap between cup and lid, instead of stirring in sugar, I can shake it! The company said one should be able to put it upside-down in one’s important file drawer without spilling a drop. Although I probably won’t test it that way, I’m very happy with my handleless chair cup.

Rebecca Kragnes and Zane (Black Labrador and Seeing Eye Dog)
E-Mail: rebeccak
Twitter: RebeccaKragnes
http://www.rebeccak.com

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

