News, updates, and happenings with the Kragnes family: Phil, our Seeing Eye Dogs, and (me) Rebecca.

I am in the process of signing up on Linked In. There are a few technical glitches, but I’d like to use it, Twitter, and this post to highlight my professional skills.

I play piano most Sunday nights at The Malt Shop. It’s not a paid gig, but I consider myself at work for tips and CD sales. I am available to do background music in the Twin Cities Area. Although most of my followers have heard what I do, I’d like to describe it in more detail.
If one attends many banquets for companies or organizations, often background music is heard which is jazz mixed with what most people call “standards”. We’re talking about Sinatra and company.
Standards can bring out feelings of sophistication , but some would like other options. I’m here to offer two options which can also be mixed together.

The first option is music with a New Age flavor. I have my own, but people seemed to like the soft music I make-up on the spot. Give me a piano and a group of people, and I can make it happen. Of course, this won’t be familiar music. the more I do this, the more I witness how people connect when they hear something familiar. This brings me to the second option.

Option #2 is what I do at the Malt Shop. My repertoire includes music from the 60’s like the Beatles, the Everly Brothers, The Righteous Brothers, and Simon and Garfunkle. The 70’s gets my attention. I play Seals and Croft, Elton John, the Eagles, and Abba. I grew up in the eighties, and had my ear on many genres. On the classic rock side, there’s Billy Joel, Stix, Little River Band, and Journey. I know a lot of light rock from people like Dan Fogelberg, Chicago and Air Supply. And let’s not forget my favorite: light R&B from Lionel Richie, Michael Jackson, and Whitney Houston. I also try to cover a few things made popular in movies of this period. I take requests, and if I know the song, I’ll give it my best shot. I’ve played requests from the Charlie Brown Theme to Debussy on the fly. Very often I weave my selections into medleys, and when you book me for two or three hours, the only break I take is for the occasional sip of water. My listening experiences are much wider, but there are some things which are hard to play on piano (like heavy metal, funky R&B, and rap). This is not music only for a certain age group. I had an 84-year-old woman come up to me at a gig and say she was touched by my rendition of Stevie Wonder’s “I Just Called To Say I Love You”.

My fees are very reasonable, and I have a lower starting fee for nonprofit organizations. I also take $50 off when transportation is provided. Please contact me for further details.

Rebecca Kragnes
(612) 827-2132
E-Mail: rebeccak
Twitter: RebeccaKragnes
http://www.rebeccak.com

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

